First Post

OK, so I’m new to this whole blogging thing. I never understood the purpose or appeal of it all. I’m gonna try it out though, so here goes. First, a few rules for myself:

  1. Don’t think, just write. Keep editing to a minimum for spelling errors & the like. Grammar doesn’t really matter as long as it all makes sense.
  2. Write for me. While I’m sorta talking to an imaginary audience right now, someday someone might read these posts. Either way, it’s okay if no one “listens”. I’m doing this for me, and not for anyone else.
  3. Always write about food-related topics.
  4. HAVE FUN!!

Alrighty . . . let’s see. I have a ton of topic ideas written down, however the thing that’s on my mind right now is what I made for dinner tonight. It was tri-tip steak cooked medium rare. Underneath is fresh spinach pesto, and on top is tomato ragout. The Brussels sprouts have a maple orange balsamic glaze.

IMG_2168

I’m really proud of this dish because aside from the two sauces, I cooked the dish in about a half hour and all in one pan. I nailed the timing & the crust on the steak came out perfect. The tomato sauce I made yesterday while the maintenance guy was fixing the kitchen fan. Even though he’s a picky eater, he just kept saying, “man that smells good!” It’s such a simple sauce that cooks quickly and contains only a few ingredients. The trick is to only make it in summer when the tomatoes & herbs are in season. He was so surprised that I just went a few feet into my backyard & came back with a handful of leaves that smelled delicious. I love the magic of summer; watching things grow and enjoying the bounty. This is one of the times of year when I’m extra proud of my skills. I absolutely LOVE knowing how to cook and make yummy things.

Earlier today I made spinach pesto for the first time. It was so easy that I wished that I had attempted to make it sooner. There’s been so many times when I’ve had a batch of spinach spoil because I forget about it or don’t get inspired to make something with it. I looked up a recipe online and pulled out my food processor. Of all of my kitchen tools, the food processor is one of my favorites. It can do so many things in no time at all! Anyways, after skimming the recipe I gathered the necessary ingredients: spinach (of course), olive oil fresh garlic, parmesan cheese, and seasonings. I packed the processor full of leaves and pressed Play. Within a few seconds the big, beautiful, bulky leaves had been chopped down into a pile of fluffy bits. With the addition of seasonings the mixture started to taste pretty damn good. There was A LOT of spinach in the fridge (a very generous gift from a party) so it took a few batches to break down all of the leaves. I considered adding some arugula to the mix, but figured that it would make the pesto too peppery. I was also going for more of a gremolata texture instead of an oily paste. The hardest part was figuring out when the flavor profile was complete. I wasn’t measuring of course, just playing. A dash of sugar, a pinch of salt . . . can I taste the garlic? Ooh now it’s too spicy! It’s the same process with everything that I make, except baking of course.

Oh, and I almost forgot . . . as I was making dinner I put together a couple quick batches of pickles while the steak was marinating. I had two pickles from my garden so I decided to make one sweet and the other savory. For the sweet one I used rice vinegar, salt, sugar, mustard powder, paprika, and cloves. The other pickle slices went into a mix of dill, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, parsley, and tarragon vinegar. Right now they’re in the fridge and tomorrow I can’t wait to taste them. A few days ago I tried my hand at making pickled tomato jam/chutney. The flavor is okay, sort of sweet/sour. I’m not crazy about the texture though. I was attempting to re-create something that I tasted at the arena a few months back. Maybe I’ll have to get the recipe & try it again.

Wow, that’s a lot of writing for this first entry. It feels good to write though, especially about food. Maybe no one will ever read this stuff or maybe I will start to have some fans. Either way, it’s fun to talk about (read about, learn about, etc) food. It’s my passion, fascination, and healthy obsession. It’s my role in this world. I get paid to play with fire and knives and I get to feed people. There are worse roles in life. I think mine is pretty special. OK, I’m at over 800 words. It’s time for bed.

Leave a Reply

